2011 Grammy Fashion Coverage

I’m not really sure why Eva Longoria was at the Grammy’s, but I really liked her black and white Ashi dress. It’s gotten mixed reviews, but I like how it has a non-traditional silhouette, shows off her legs, and was fun and funky which is perfect for the Grammy’s. The only thing I wasn’t crazy about was her hair.

The Biebs rocked a velvet white Dolce and Gabanna tuxedo and looked freaking adorble. He might have been robbed of the Best New Artist honors, but at least he looked awesome. I only wish he wore different shoes–since the tux is a little off-white, his pristine sneakers look weird.

Lea Michelle took a break from her usual Oscar de la Renta for an Emilio Pucci gown. I just wasn’t feeling it–she doesn’t look bad of course, but I just wasn’t crazy about the dress’s shoulder accents, belt, or her hair. I do however like the sexy leg slit.

Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Lopez looks awesome in her disco Pucci gown…but something about this look reminds me of the scene in Sex and the City 2 when Samantha shows up on the red carpet in the same dress as Miley Cyrus. J-Lo has always loved really glamorous gowns, but I think this dress would have looked better on someone younger like Selena Gomez or Vanessa Hudgins. Love her hair though!

Katy Perry was an angel in an Armani gown and feathered wings! I love how she took a break from her usual vintage pin up girl style and went for something crazy but still beautiful. Armani dressed her grandma and husband Russell Brand as well.

Although Rihanna’s Jean Paul Gaultier Haute Couture gown was a bit um, revealing, I applaud Rihanna for wearing something crazy and attention getting without being obnoxious. It’s one thing to intentionally dress for the “worst dressed” list or wear something insane, but I think it’s really desperate and annoying when celebrities pull outrageous red carpet stunts (ehm Lady Gaga) when the focus of the night should be on the industry as a whole. Rihanna struck the right balance between bizarre and meaning business.

Miley Cyrus is Roberto Cavalli was one of my favorite looks of the night. I love the metallic color of her dress, the cut, the subtle patterns, and her stacks of jewelry. Her hair and makeup look awesome too. She looked her age, beautiful, and a bit rock and roll.

Selena Gomez stunned in a gold lame J Mendel dress. Her center-parted curls, the silhouette, the simple jewelry and clutch–Selenita looked absolutely flawless. She was age appropriate while still sophisticated.

Jennifer Hudson is gorgeous, especially with her new body, but I wasn’t feeling her Versace dress. The bodice reminded me of a corset worn with suspenders, and I’ve never been a fan of dresses that are shorter in the front. I love the center part of her hair though (70’s fashion e-emerging) and her makeup looks incredible too.

Hayley Williams, WTF?! I love Hayley because she does what she wants, but this outfit was all wrong. Her bangs are terrible, and the red clashed with the pink on her skirt. Jeremy Scott might have designed this dress, but it looks straight out of a dance recital catalog.

Florence Welch was one of my favorite looks of the night. Her swan gown by Givenchy Haute Couture was vintage-looking and quirky, but still delicate and romantic. I’m certain she’s bound to make several Best Dressed lists.

Nicki Minaj looks crazy as usual in Givenchy, but I love her signature pink lips and electric eye makeup. She didn’t need the crazy Bride of Frankenstein hair to make a statement, but I’d say she out-Gaga’d Lady Gaga which probably left her seething with jealousy in that stupid egg of hers. Which bring me to…

Lady Gaga showed up “incubating” in an egg, carried in by an obnoxiously large entourage. You know that every celebrity on the carpet was rolling their eyes when she arrived. It was pretty self serving and egocentric in my opinion, and her grand exit out of the egg wasn’t even anything special. She certainly gets an A for Absolutely Obnoxious in my opinion.

Cee Lo Green’s crazy feathered peacock outfit was my favorite costume of the night! His performance sounded great and he kept it exciting with Muppet characters as his back up singers/dancers. His sunglasses and bright colors reminded me of vintage Elton John (especially with him playing piano) and I loved his crazy skull cap and chest plate.

One of my favorite parts of the entire night was Usher and Justin Bieber’s performance together, especially they’re dance break! I liked their costumes, they reminded me a little bit of space man outfits! I love the boots, motorcycle-esque jackets, and Bieb’s sunglasses.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Grammy Fashion Coverage

  1. I can’t believe I’m writing this, since I dislike her so much, but I actually really like Miley Cyrus’ look. It just hits every note. I even like it better than Selena’s, and I adore her.

  2. Danní says:

    woow’ milay cyrus se veía realmente espectacular, como siempre =) Ella siempre destaca por su gran figura y su manera de vestir a la moda, acorde a su edad, bella & principalmente hermosa! yo la encuentro PERFECTA! Que siga así porque todos la queremos! & justin bieber tambien woow! ;Dlo amo’ ♥

Leave a Reply

